1000100

Pretty Numbers

Ok, so anything associated with the word “social” tends to make me run for the hills and I don’t know what to do with half of the buttons here (I’ll be lucky if this comes out right at all), but with NaNoWriMo freshly over, I decided to try something new to keep my momentum going and this is part of it. In short, publically accessible accountability.

I’m a several years’ NaNoWriMo veteran, and this year they added something to their stats page: total lifetime Nano word count. According to that little statistic, my lifetime Nano word count is currently sitting at 515,171. That’s a very pretty number. That’s only what I’ve officially written during NaNoWriMo, nothing more.

In discussing it with my best friend last night, she challenged me to focus less on trying to publish this year (actually what she said was more like don’t think about publishing at all), and simply write words. Any words.

I batted around some numbers and this is what I came up with:

2740 words a day.

That’s more than the NaNoWriMo average of 1,667, but both numbers are totally do-able. 2740 words for 365 days produces an even prettier number:

1000100

Day one: 402 words and counting.

Leave a Reply

